Pinedale Ice Skating Rink

~
Nothing struck fear into a young boy like the high dive tower at Blakely's. Or perhaps you preferred the water slide at Maple Plunge. But to a young man, Lake Millerton or Lost Lake was the destination. Remember the ice rink in Pinedale? Post your favorite Summer Activity here.
~
fresno103

Pinedale Ice Skating Rink

Post by fresno103 » Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:11 am

Jeez, I spent my entire youth without ever knowing that we had an ice rink in Fresno until long after I graduated. Then a friend of mine got me interested in playing ice hockey and the junior league he found was located in Visalia. It was full sized hockey rink that lated became a furniture store. So when we were too lazy to drive to Visalia to practice skate, we headed over to Pinedale. The Pinedale rink was like some hidden mystery that all of a sudden popped-up out of nowhere.

As I remember it, the place was quite small and a tad bit run down. The original owner was still there and he kept a good eye on us to make sure we didn't hot rod around his small rink. We were wearing our hockey skates after all. It's been many years since I've been to Pinedale but I'm sure that ring got swallowed up by some strip mall.

Lost Fresno Guest

Re: Pinedale Ice Skating Rink

Post by Lost Fresno Guest » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:30 am

I think the name of the ice skating rink was Icelandia. Wasn't it located on Harrison Ave?

TmBarrett59

Post by TmBarrett59 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:32 am